Shoalhaven News

NSW Netball expands to include South Coast Blaze


The South Coast Blaze will join the Netball NSW Premier League in an expanded competition next year.

The Blaze is backed by the Illawarra, Kiama and Shoalhaven Netball Associations, the Illawarra Academy of Sport and UOW.

They've been added to the premiership along with the Capital Spirit from Canberra.

Netball NSW said the Premier League provides a local, elite platform for players, coaches, officials and administrators and bridging opportunities to the Australian Netball League which is the feeder competition to Super Netball.

The Premier League is contested across two divisions – Opens and Under 23s – and from 2020 will have 10 teams in each division facing off for the respective titles.

Netball NSW CEO and Premier League Commissioner Carolyn Campbell said the addition of two new franchises was huge step forward for the competition.

“To see how the competition has grown since it was introduced back in 2016 is something we are very proud of.

“Both the Blaze and Spirit put forward very strong cases for inclusion in the competition going forward and we are delighted to welcome them into our Opens and Under 23s competitions," Campbell said.

The Blaze and Spirit will join the eight existing franchises who also compete across both the Opens and Under 23s divisions: Central Coast Heart, ERNA Hawks, GWS Fury, Manly Warringah Sapphires, North Shore United, Panthers, Sutherland Stingrays and UTS Sparks.

The Blaze are now recruiting for assistant coaches.

Image: Netball NSW